TICleando

2º de Bachillerato. CONDITIONALS

Posted on: septiembre 20, 2015

zero-conditional-4

zero-conditional-1

zero-conditional

                The Zero Conditional

We can make a zero conditional sentence with two present simple verbs (one in the ‘if clause’ and one in the ‘main clause’):

  • If + present simple, …. present simple.

This conditional is used when the result will always happen. So, if water reaches 100 degrees, it always boils. It’s a fact. I’m talking in general, not about one particular situation. The result of the ‘if clause’ is always the main clause.

The ‘if’ in this conditional can usually be replaced by ‘when’ without changing the meaning.

For example: If water reaches 100 degrees, it boils. (It is always true, there can’t be a different result sometimes). If I eat peanuts, I am sick. (This is true only for me, maybe, not for everyone, but it’s still true that I’m sick every time I eat peanuts)

Here are some more examples:

  • If people eat too much, they get fat.

  • If you touch a fire, you get burned.

  • People die if they don’t eat.

  • You get water if you mix hydrogen and oxygen.

  • Snakes bite if they are scared

  • If babies are hungry, they cry

http://moviesegmentstoassessgrammargoals.blogspot.com.es/2009/05/marley-me-zero-conditional.html

                      1st conditional

conditional-1

unless

           Possible variations of the basic form

Sometimes instead of if + present + future, we may have:

a) if  + present + may/might (possibility)

  • If the climate keeps warming, the Arctic might be warm enough for swimming.

b) if + present + may (permission) or can (permission or ability)

  • If your documents are in order, you may/can leave at once. (permission)
  • If it stops raining, we can go out.» (permission or ability)

                           

                              Chain game

If I go out tonight, I’ll go to the cinema.”

“If I go to the cinema, I’ll watch Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.”

“If I watch Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, I’ll eat lots of chocolate.

Then, “If I eat lots of chocolate, I’ll put on weight” etc. etc.

Emily dickinson

             

                         

                       2nd Conditional

type-2a

type-2

second-conditional-8-638

if-i-were-you-grammar-1

If I Could Live My Life Over Again…

If I could live my life again.
Next time, I would try to make more mistakes.
I would not try to be so perfect, I would relax more.
I would be sillier than I have been.
I would take fewer things seriously.
I would be less fastidious.
Accept more risks, I would take more trips,
Contemplate more evenings,
Climb more mountains, and swim more rivers…
I would go to more places where I have not been,
Eat more ice cream and fewer beans.
I would have more real problems and less imaginary ones.
I was one of those people who lived
sensibly and meticulously every minute of their life.
Of course I have had moments of happiness.
But if I could go back in time, I would try to
have good moments only,
and not waste precious time.
I was someone never went
anywhere without a thermometer, a
hot water bag, an umbrella
and a parachute. If I could live again,
I would travel more frivolously.
If I could live again, I would begin
to walk barefoot at the beginning of the spring
and I would continue to do so until the end of autumn.
I would ride more merry-go-rounds,
I would contemplate more evenings and I would play
with more children.
If I could have another life ahead.
But I am 85 years old you see, and I know that I am dying.

TEARS IN HEAVEN.Listening  practice

http://moviesegmentstoassessgrammargoals.blogspot.com.es/search/label/1st%20conditional

                      PRACTICE  FIRST AND SECOND CONDITIONAL

  1.  http://www.englischhilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/type_1_statements.htm
  2.   http://www.englischhilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/type_1_negation.htm
  3.  http://www.englischhilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/type_2_statements.htm 
  4. http://www.englischhilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/type_2_negation.htm
  5. http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/mix.htm
  6. http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/mix2.htm
  7.  http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/exercises/if_clauses/matching.htm

                     3rd conditional

third

  •  GAME TO PRACTICE CONDITIONALS

  • GAME

    Exercises

  • If it rains this evening, ___________
  • If I’d been born a boy/ girl, _____________________________
  • If I hadn’t got up at all this morning, ________________________
  • If I didn’t do my homework, _____________________________
  • If I had been born 100 years ago, _________________________
  • If I studied more, ______________________________________
  • If I got into fights at school, ______________________________
  • If I had x-ray vision, __________________________________
  • If I weren´t  here. ______________________________________
  • If the economy gets worse, _______________________________
  • If I were an ant, _______________________________________
  • If I were the most beautiful person in the world, _______________
  • If someone nice tells me that they like me, __________________
  • If I were president of this country, __________________________
  • If I’d started English when I was younger, ___________________
  • If I could fly, __________________________________________
  • If I had four arms, ______________________________________
  • If I’d been a child prodigy, ________________________________

Conditionals discussion questions

  • If you could change one thing about your body or personality, what would it be?
  • How would your life have been different if you had been born a girl/ boy?
  • If you could change three things about the world today, what would you change?
  • If your house was on fire and you could only take one object, which would it be?
  • How would your life have been different if your parents had given you a different name?
  • If you could have any super power – for example, the ability to fly, or to be very strong, or to become invisible – which super power would you choose? Why? What would you do with this power?
  • If you had a time machine and could travel to three times in history, which times would you want to visit, and why?
  • If you had $50000 and you had to spend it within 24 hours, what would you do?
  • If you could buy anything in the world (but just one thing), what would it be?
  • If you could choose which three objects to take with you to a desert island, what would you take?

          HOME WORK conditionals-in-context-part1

three-conditionls

  1. IF CONDITIONAL CLAUSES EXERCISES 
  2. IF CONDITIONAL CLAUSES EXERCISES
  3. CONDITIONAL SENTENCES
  4. CONDITIONAL SENTENCES
  5. CONDITIONALS
Etiquetas:

Deja un comentario

A GOOD LANGUAGE LEARNER

Categorías

VOXOPOP

CANAL DE YOUTUBE

TICleando

This blog is meant for use with my students of 1º de Bachillerato at I.E.S. José de Churriguera in Leganés (Madrid)

VOXOPOP

1º A BACHILLERATO STUDENTS

DotSUB Any video any language

Comenius Project:CEWIP

Subscribe to my post

Subscribe to this podcast feed
View Nines's profile on slideshare View Nines's profile on slideshare
bilingues

Calendario

septiembre 2015
L M X J V S D
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Edupop Manifesto | Manifiesto Edupop

We do believe in technology, because we do believe in individuals. And that’s why we think our struggle is over the future of technology and over the way we manage with it, it is over the struggle for the future of our culture that is assailed from all corners by the punk way of thinking. Technology and knowledge must be free to share, sell or use in order to give away ideas, innovations and visions. So we will receive whatever is shared, sold or gave away in return. We live in a connective world where culture and knowledge is everywhere, and individuals must be free to do as they want in it. Look for the perfect melody Enter the free stage: EDUPOP! Illustration: Prrofesor Potâchov Publicado el Jul 28.08 en edupop, manifiestos

WHAT ARE YOU LIKE?

archivos

READING

READING

Read in order to live.~ Gustave Flaubert ~ We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading.~ B. F. Skinner ~ “We read to know we are not alone.” C.S. Lewis “No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.” Confucius “I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.” Groucho Marx
causatic05

Blogging for hope

Bloggers Unite
var ecov = "sv"; document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='http://eco-safe.com/js/eco.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));

Blog Stats

  • 390.531 hits

IBSN

HAPPY VALENTINE´S DAY

Glitter Photos